Sitting in the Rain

Standard

Last night it stormed, and I rather like storms. Don’t get me wrong I prefer the warm sunshine but every now and then I need a good storm. So from about 11:45pm to 12:45am I sat in the middle of it. I grabbed a blanket and sweatpants and just sat there. My cousin asked me, “Why?”.

That’s hard to explain, but I decided I would go for it anyway. I tend to over think things, not just big things but everything. It clogs my head and puts a compressed feeling around my chest. The compressed feeling isn’t pain, it’s more like the feeling you get when you want to cry but know that at this point in time, you can’t. (not that I want to cry all the time) Now, music and reading take my mind off of things, but they don’t make them disappear. It is basically just to keep my mind off of whatever was terrorizing it at the moment. (yes, my mind does sometimes terrorize me) There is something in the rhythm of the rain that counts as music. The way that it constantly taps along the area up until it slowly fades out. Since that is not “technically” music it soothes my mind but doesn’t have the full drowning out effect that an actual song would. The lightning in a storm counts as a bright spot in a rather dull moment, making storm watching worthwhile. Something about all of that combined makes sitting in a storm just to think completely worth it. I also seem to sleep better when it is storming, but I can’t even begin to explain why on that. White noise maybe?

That’s about the best way I can explain why I like to sit in a storm just to think. When it is just raining, it doesn’t have the same effect. When it is just raining, I want to plug myself into my iPod and dance.

3 responses »

  1. Maybe you should get one of those sleeping noise machines that plays a thunderstorm and rain. It might help you sleep :)

  2. I tend to over think things, too. This can be bad — things tend to hurt me more, and I often feel this inexplicable ache about the world and my place in it. But it also can be good when I channel it into my writing.

    Thunderstorms are something that I both love and fear. I think storms often reflect the storms within my mind, and I feel this deep within particularly during a storm. I feel it is a connection with the larger, natural world that we often are not part of anymore, but perhaps miss in some way.

    Next time your cousin asks “Why?” perhaps your answer should be “Why not?” :)

Leave a Reply

