Dance Recital 2011

Standard

Ah the dance recital. I spend weeks stressing over it and then it gets here and I am fine. Getting onstage and performing for 3-4 minutes at a time makes me feel like a totally different person. Standing on the stage you can hear the music and the kids backstage. All you can see is two rows of heads in the audience because the stage lights are so bright. I am always nervous backstage waiting for my turn to go. Always. Yet, once I get out there I am fine. Here’s a brief overview of how the three nights went.

Thursday: (rehearsal) I got to the school at 4 to start setting everything up. We had to tear it all down because the school was going to have their own play during the day so none of our stuff could stay up. We did a run through of how everything was going to work and let me tell you, it was rough.

Friday: (recital) I got to the school at 4 so that we could start setting up the stage (again). We put together all background pieces, hung streamers, put stickers here and there, ect. ect. All the classes have dressing rooms so I had to run back an forth between the rooms and the stage to make sure all the classes were lined up when they were supposed to be. The classes have backstage moms, but they (clearly) don’t pay very good attention. THREE times I ran to the rooms and had to go “You’re going on stage in 30 seconds, you need to run.” We also had two costume changes run rather slow and had to have a brief pause. (not long at all really) So working backstage that night was pretty stressful. I did hip-hop really well, and did tap really well, but I effed up ballet really bad. The other girls in my class were watching me because they didn’t know the dance either and so they also effed up. Improve worked well though. :)

Saturday: I got there at 4 again but this time to practice ballet. Me and Lexie worked on it a few times and had it by the last time we practiced it. Backstage this night was not bad at all. It was a breeze! The kids were all ready to go and got their costumes changed on time! Saturday is always more energetic for some reason that I can’t explain. Onstage though, one of the younger girls began crying onstage so we had to calm her down and send her back out there. She finished her dance really well. :) Another little girl was doing tap and lost a shoe onstage, it was hilarious. At the end of the show, we sang one of the girls happy birthday. She cried and loved it and then gave a speech. I (again) did hip-hop well, tap well, and effed up ballet. I didn’t mess up as bad as Friday though.

When I am onstage I can always hear the little kids classes that I teach backstage cheering for me. I love it. After the recital we always go to Huckleberry Junction for pizza and the kids will always be screaming for me to watch them do this or that. They are so cute. I can’t wait for next year.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

