Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala

Standard

Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala

★★★★★ 5/5 Stars

(borrowed this book)

Summary (from the publisher): It’s tough living in the shadow of a dead girl…

In the five years since her bad-girl sister Xanda’s death, Miranda Mathison has wondered about the secret her sister took to the grave, and what really happened the night she died. Now, just as Miranda is on the cusp of her dreams—a best friend to unlock her sister’s world, a ticket to art school, and a boyfriend to fly her away from it all—Miranda has a secret all her own.

When two lines on a pregnancy test confirm her worst fears, Miranda is stripped of her former life. She must make a choice with tremendous consequences and finally face her sister’s demons and her own.

In this powerful debut novel, stunning new talent Holly Cupala illuminates the dark struggle of a girl who must let go of her past to find a way into her own future.

Hmm…. Where to start….

I abso-freakin-lutley loved this novel! Holly does a wonderful job at capturing the struggles of a pregnant teen. She slowly unfolds the secrets of the night that Xanda died, and how everyone has a breaking point, no matter how strong they think they are. This book left me staring open mouthed, grumbling at a character, and even in tears at one point. This is a VERY powerful read and I suggest it to….everyone.

Miranda’s so-called “best friend” Delaney was to be frustrating to me. She completely treated Miranda like crap, and even lied to her and spread rumors about her. I would like to think I would have dropped her as a friend, although, I have never been in Miranda’s situation. I did however want to slap her. The mother-daughter relationship in this book is very tense. Her mother already had one daughter who was very rebellious and lost her. She wanted to blame everyone and anything for her daughters death, and seemed to  hope that Miranda would be the perfect daughter in comparison to the very rebellious one. Once she found out about the pregnancy, her hopes had been washed down the drain. She tried to remain control over her daughter by telling her what job she was getting, and where she couldn’t go. Following Miranda through this journey of self-discovery was amazing!

Deb Caletti (author of Honey, Baby, Sweetheart) is quoted on the back of the book stating, “A gripping, emotional story about a young girl with a tragic past and an uncertain future. I dare you to set it down during it’s last hundred pages. I dare you.”

I definitely couldn’t put it down! Near the end I was brought to tears, not many books do that too me. This is definitely one of my favorite books and I WILL be rushing out to get my own copy ASAP!

5 responses »

  1. great review! Sounds like SUCH a good book. *Cries at size of TBR list*

    also, I miss my trolls BUT I LOVE your fresh springy green blog. Promises warm weather and new flowers and grass shoots soon. YAY.

    • I’m crying at my TBR list too, not just the stack in my room but my Goodreads one too. Thanks for loving the background, honestly I didn’t put much work into this one I just threw it together. ♥

Leave a Reply

